When public  library service is established, except in any city of the first class operating under a home rule charter, the mayor of the city with the approval of the council for a city library  or the board of commissioners for a county library , shall appoint a board of five, seven or nine members from among the residents of the city or county.

— Minnesota State Statues, 134.09

The Van Horn Public Library has a Board of Trustees that serve for three year terms. They are able to serve for three consecutive terms, or a total of nine years. The Board typically meets on the 2nd Monday of even numbered months at 7pm at the library. These meetings are open to the public.

Our board members are:

Hope Carroll-Rizzo President 2nd 12/31/2022
Sarah Miller Secretary/Treasurer 1st 12/31/2020
Tonya Burns At Large 1st 12/31/2022
Megan Garrity-Park At Large 1st 12/31/2022
Kari Hoffarth At Large 1st 12/31/2022
Jackie LaRue At Large 1st 12/31/2020
Dan Swintek At Large 1st 12/31/2018
David Friese City Council Liason 12/31/2020